Gruppo degli Otto

The Gruppo degli Otto (also known as "Otto pittori italiani") emerged alongside the Arte Nucleare group, as part of Italian Informel.
The Gruppo degli Otto was established in Italy in 1952. Its name referred to its eight founding members. Six of the artists - Renato Birolli, Antonio Corpora, Ennio Morlotti, Emilio Vedova, Giuseppe Santomaso and Giulio Turcato – formerly belonged to the Fronte nuovo delle arti group, which was disbanded in 1952. Other members of the Gruppo degli Otto included Mattia Moreni and Afro Basaldella.
The groups’ work was initially influenced by Cubism and Geometric Abstraction, and subsequently became increasingly informed by Informel and Tachism. This was particularly visible in the work of Ennio Morlotti (1910-92), who developed an increasingly gestural visual language, and used powerful, expressive colours, which he sometimes applied in paste form.
The group’s paintings were characterised by gestural expression and impulsive brush strokes, as well as geometric-linear elements. The group exhibited at the Venice Bienniale in 1952, and its work was publicly acknowledged. The Gruppo degli Otto was dissolved after only two years, in 1954, although its members continued to pursue their artistic careers.